Merge FileMerge in a File

(Not available in LISCAD Lite)

Merges part or all of a selected data base into the currently open data base. The data base selected for merging remains unchanged and the currently open data base is increased in size by the merged objects.

The Edit/Merge in a file command is selected from the Plan View Utilities task.

Merge in a file dialog box

Item Used to
Look in Select the folder where the source database is located.
File name Display the name of the source database from which objects are to be merged into the currently open database.
It must be on the same projection as the open data base.
Files of type Only LISCAD SEE files of the current version can be merged.
Merge Options
Identifier Prefix Select that a prefix is to be added to the start of the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
Numeric Part Select that an offset is to be added to the numeric part of the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
Identifier Suffix Select that a suffix is to be added to the end of the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
Prefix Key in the prefix that is to be added to the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
This field is only available if the "Identifier Prefix" merge option is selected.
Offset Key in the offset that is to be added to the numeric part of the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
This field is only available if the "Numeric Part" merge option is selected.
The offset value may be positive or negative.
Suffix Key in the suffix that is to be added to the point identifiers of the points being merged in from the source file.
This field is only available if the "Identifier Suffix" merge option is selected.
Merge Objects
Photos Select that photos in source file are to be merged. If a photo already exists with the same name the incoming photo name is appended with a number.
Models Select that models in source file are to be merged. If a model already exists with the same name the incoming model name is appended with a number. Unless outside a defined block in the file being merged to, points needed for the models will  be merged regardless of whether those points are in a currently selected group.
Groups Lists all the groups in the source database. Groups are listed when the selected source database is opened.
Objects in groups to be merged are shown highlighted.
Objects in groups that are not highlighted will not be merged.
Open Open the selected source database. The database can also be opened by double clicking its name in the File name field. Opening the data base to be merged will display all the groups in the data base.
Cancel Close the dialog box without performing the merge process.
Merge Copy the objects from the source database to the currently open data base, and close the dialog box.
The Merge button is only active after a source file name has been opened.
The currently open database remains open and the selected objects from the source data base are copied to it.
The source data base is not altered in any way by this process.
If the numeric part of a point identifier being merged is negative as a result of applying too large a negative offset, the system provides a warning and the merge process is aborted. Nothing is merged.
If a point identifier being merged already exists in the database, the result depends on whether you have selected "Unique Point Identifiers" in the Utilities/Configure/Point Identifier command.
If "Unique Point Identifiers" is selected, the system provides a warning that the point identifier already exists and the process is aborted. Nothing is merged.
If "Unique Point Identifiers" is not selected, the system provides a warning that the 'Point identifier already exists. Continue to prompt for duplicate identifiers?'.
  • Select Yes to have this duplicate point added to the data base and to ensure that you are prompted for the next duplicate occurrence.
  • Select No to have this and all other duplicate points added to the data base without being further prompted.
    Select Cancel to abort the merge operation and nothing will be merged.

If the Block Tool is on in the currently open data base, then only those objects in the source data base which match the block definition will be merged. This is particularly useful for merging data within a specified boundary. For further information about defining and using blocks, refer to the Block command and the Block Tool.

Generally, only those objects which are in currently selected groups in the groups list will be merged. Note however, there are the following exceptions to this generality: